ABOUT THE WORKSHOP

The two-day workshop and brainstorming session will focus on Natural Language Processing, specifically concerning the Indigenous languages of North-east India.

The outcomes of this workshop will include:

- The formation of a consortium consisting of faculty members from NU, ISI Kolkata, Tezpur University and NIT Nagaland, aimed at proposing research on Natural Language Processing (NLP) for North-East Indian Languages, with a particular focus on Naga languages.

- The preparation and submission of project proposals to various project funding agencies such as North Eastern Council (NEC), Department of Science & Technology (DST), and Ministry of Electronics and Information

Technology (MeitY).

- Research scholars from NU and NIT Nagaland will have the opportunity to pursue Ph.D. work on these research areas.

- B.Tech and M.Tech students will be able to undertake project work in these fields.
- Guidelines for the consortium will be established during the workshop.

WHO CAN APPLY?

Faculty members and research scholars from the Departments of IT, CSE, ECE, Tenyidie, Linguistics and the Centre for Naga Tribal Language Studies (CNTLS) at Nagaland University, along with faculty members from the National Institute of Technology, Nagaland, specializing in linguistics and engineering.

APPLICATION DEADLINE: 14-03-2025

MAX PARTICIPANTS: 30

NO REGISTRATION FEE

Application link: google form link

CONTACT:

teisovi@nagalanduniversity.ac.in chenlep@nagalanduniversity.ac.in





UNIVERSITY

Two-Day Workshop on NLP for Indigenous Languages of Northeast India: Focus on Naga Languages

Organized by

Department of Information Technology and Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Date: 18th - 19th March, 2025 Venue: Conference Hall, Dept. of Commerce, NU, Meriema Campus

RESOURCE PERSONS
PROF NILADRI SEKHAR DASH, ISI, KOLKATA AND
DR. AMALESH GOPE, ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, TEZPUR
UNIVERSITY, ASSAM

CHIEF PATRON
PROF. JAGADISH KUMAR PATNAIK
VICE CHANCELLOR

PATRON PROF. G.T. THONG PRO-VICE CHANCELLOR

CONVENOR
PROF. SUJATA DASH,
DEAN, SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY

ORGANIZING SECRETARY ER. TEISOVI ANGAMI, IT

CO-ORGANIZING SECRETARY ER. CHENLEP YAKHA KONYAK, CSE MEMBERS
DR. H. ROHEN SINGH, IT
ER. SHANCHAMO YANTHAN, IT
ER. SUDIPTA PATOWARY, IT
ER. SOURAV HAZARIKA, IT
ER. AKANGJUNGSHI LONGKUMER, CSE
ER. RAMESH SINGH, CSE