The College Development Council was established in the year 2008 as per OB 4 Section 29(1) m of Nagaland University Act 1989. At present 66 colleges are under Nagaland University and some more colleges are in process for affiliation. There are 16 Government colleges and 50 private colleges scattered in all 11 Districts of Nagaland.

To impart quality education and to nurture the students, the colleges offer U.G.C. and P.G. Courses. The Post graduate courses in Social Work (MSW) and Master of Education (M.Ed.) have already been introduced by the Nagaland University. The College Development Council acts as a facilitator between affiliated colleges and UGC. The section deals with correspondence to MHRD and UGC for various matters pertaining to affiliated colleges, Inspection for various purposes, such as establishment of new college, deputation of teachers for interview for recruitment of various faculties position in the affiliated colleges, extension of provisional affiliation, up gradation of course, recognition of affiliated college under Section 2 (f) & 12 (B) of UGC Act 1956.

The College Development Council has successfully accomplished the task as assigned, during the academic years from 2009 to 2016, the CDC section has accorded for provisional affiliation of various Colleges, introduction of Honours to various Courses, Permanent affiliation of many Colleges, recognition of various colleges under Section 2(f) and 12(B) of UGC Act, 1956.